yumyumyummers

caprese salad w/ organic mixed greens

In appetizers, brunch, culinary experiments, easy weeknight meals, ethnic food, gluten-free, lunch, side dishes, tapas, vegetarian on 04.26.11 at 8:59 pm

caprese salad is definitely one of my all-time faves… fresh, juicy organic tomatoes. buffalo mozzarella. organic mixed greens. what’s not to love? :)

what’s even better is that caprese salad has that gourmet feeling without much effort at all. check out this easypeasy recipe…

– fresh, organic vine-ripe tomatoes (1/4-inch thick slices)
(tip: best to use red, yellow & orange tomatoes to add some vibrant colour to your salad.)

– fresh mozzarella or buffalo mozzarella cheese (1/4-inch thick slices)
– fresh, organic mixed greens

food styling:
– the classic way to serve caprese salad is to alternate slices of tomato and mozzarella, topped with fresh basil leaves. i’ve made a simple adaptation by using organic mixed greens instead of fresh basil, since that’s what i had in my fridge that day.
– drizzle lightly w/ balsamic vinegar
– season w/ ground black peppercorns

(tip: there are so many interesting ways to food-style caprese salad. lots of really fabulous examples out there in the blogosphere… be creative!)

  1. One of my all-time favs too! Cannot wait for my tomatoes to come in.

    Like

  2. Mmm looks fresh, healthy and delicious!

    Like

  3. Can’t wait for tomato season!

    Like

  4. Caprese for me anything. I love to serve this to my guests, they are tasty and pretty.

    Like

  5. Sounds great. I love a good caprese salad. It looks really nice with all the heirloom tomatoes, too.

    Interesting to not use the basil, though. For me, the slightly anise flavor of the sweet basil is the part of the caprese that really drives home that this is something special. Well, that and the fresh mozzarella :)

    Like

    • i agree that fresh basil is the better option here… just had to improvise with what i had in my fridge that evening. too lazy to run to the grocery store after work! :) and yes, who can say ‘no’ to fresh mozza!

      Like

  6. My favorite classic salad too! I like that you used a variety of tomatoes. p.s. I always liked the Depo Masthead theme, I originally started my blog on this format; I loved the “magazine” type look.

    Like

  7. […] caprese salad w/ organic mixed greens […]

    Like

  8. […] strawberry summer salad caprese salad w/ organic mixed greens chipotle tofu & chickpea salad chipotle tofu & ruby chard salad dijon blue poppyseed turkey […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

